Cardiff University | Prifysgol Caerdydd ORCA
Online Research @ Cardiff 
WelshClear Cookie - decide language by browser settings

Nature symphony

Sierra, Arlene ORCID: 2017. Nature symphony. [Score]. Cecilian Music.

Full text not available from this repository.


Nature Symphony was commissioned by the BBC Philharmonic and BBC Radio 3, and is Sierra’s first large-scale orchestral work since the piano concerto Art of War, written for Huw Watkins and the BBC National Orchestra of Wales in 2010. That work was a milestone in a series of pieces based on ideas from game theory and military strategy, including Surrounded Ground (2008), Cicada Shell (2007), and Truel (2005). Nature Symphony is the largest statement so far in a parallel series of works that explore concepts from the natural world. As with the pieces Urban Birds (2014), Colmena (2008), and Butterflies Remember a Mountain (2013), it is the mechanics and processes of nature, rather than a simple reflection or meditation, that form the basis for Sierra’s compositional approach.

Item Type: Composition
Status: Published
Schools: Music
Subjects: M Music and Books on Music > M Music
Publisher: Cecilian Music
Related URLs:
Last Modified: 22 Oct 2022 13:41

Actions (repository staff only)

Edit Item Edit Item