Cardiff University | Prifysgol Caerdydd ORCA
Online Research @ Cardiff 
WelshClear Cookie - decide language by browser settings

Haydn's forgotten quartets: Three of the 'Paris' symphonies arranged for string quartet

Jones, David Wyn ORCID: 2011. Haydn's forgotten quartets: Three of the 'Paris' symphonies arranged for string quartet. Eighteenth-Century Music 8 (2) , pp. 287-305. 10.1017/S147857061100008X

[thumbnail of Jones 2011.pdf]
PDF - Published Version
Download (2MB) | Preview


In 1787 Artaria, Haydn's publisher in Vienna, issued three versions of The Seven Last Words: the original orchestral version, a quartet arrangement prepared by the composer and a keyboard arrangement sanctioned by him. A year later, in September 1788, Artaria issued three of the recent ‘Paris’ Symphonies, Nos 84, 85 and 86, in an arrangement for quartet. While the quartet version of The Seven Last Words has always been accepted as part of the canon, the three quartet arrangements of the symphonies have been ignored. Sympathetic consideration of a range of evidence, including the bibliographical, historical and text-critical, suggests that Haydn may have been the author of these three quartets.

Item Type: Article
Date Type: Publication
Status: Published
Schools: Music
Subjects: M Music and Books on Music > M Music
Additional Information: Pdf uploaded in accordance with publisher's policy at (accessed 24/02/2014).
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
ISSN: 1478-5706
Date of First Compliant Deposit: 30 March 2016
Last Modified: 04 May 2023 04:56

Actions (repository staff only)

Edit Item Edit Item


Downloads per month over past year

View more statistics