Cardiff University | Prifysgol Caerdydd ORCA
Online Research @ Cardiff 
WelshClear Cookie - decide language by browser settings

Composing Cymru: Art music since 1940

Jones, Nicholas ORCID: 2022. Composing Cymru: Art music since 1940. Herbert, Trevor, Clarke, Martin V. and Barlow, Helen, eds. Cambridge History of Welsh Music, Cambridge University Press, pp. 264-290. (10.1017/9781009036511.015)

Full text not available from this repository.


This chapter considers the work of a series of twentieth-century Welsh composers, including Daniel Jones, Grace Williams, William Mathias, Alun Hoddinott, Karl Jenkins and Rhian Samuel. It draws on their compositions and their writings about music to interrogate the question of whether musical qualities or characteristics that might be identified as distinctively Welsh can be discerned in their output. It explores the influence of Welsh landscapes, history and concepts, such as the notion of hiraeth (longing), on the ways in which they have drawn on or sought to reflect their homeland in their compositions. It reveals that while many of these composers were uneasy about identifying a distinctively Welsh school of composition, some level of engagement with their nationality or sense of Welshness was a common trait, albeit manifested in different ways. Several common themes emerge, including the importance of a sense of place and ideas about the past.

Item Type: Book Section
Date Type: Published Online
Status: Published
Schools: Music
Subjects: M Music and Books on Music > M Music
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
ISBN: 9781009036511
Last Modified: 01 Nov 2022 12:45

Actions (repository staff only)

Edit Item Edit Item