Cardiff University | Prifysgol Caerdydd ORCA
Online Research @ Cardiff 
WelshClear Cookie - decide language by browser settings

Complete criticism of Joseph d’Ortigues

Moore, Rachel, Hamer, Laura and Branger, Aurélie Hibberd, Sarah, Rowden, Clair Sophie ORCID: and Everist, Mark, eds. 2011. Complete criticism of Joseph d’Ortigues. [Online]. Francophone Music Criticism 1789-1914: Institute of Musical Research. Available at:

Full text not available from this repository.


So far the collection contains three of six phases of the project: all essays and reviews written by Joseph d'Ortigue between 1829 and 1832 in L'Avenir (1830-31), Le Correspondant (1829-31), Le Courrier de l'Europe (1831-2), L'Écho de Vaucluse (1828-9) and Le Mémorial catholique (1827-1829), Journal de Paris and Le ménestrel. Extracts from some of the articles in L’Avenir were reprinted in Le Balcon de l'Opera (Paris: Renduel, 1833). Phases 4 - 6 will follow. D’Ortigue’s writings were collected by Sylvia L’Écuyer (Université de Montréal). The edition was prepared by Rachel Moore (Royal Holloway, University of London), Laura Hamer (Open University) and Aurélie Branger (Paris), under the direction of Sarah Hibberd (University of Nottingham), Clair Rowden (Cardiff University) and Mark Everist (University of Southampton), and supported by a SAS Initiatives grant.

Item Type: Website Content
Date Type: Publication
Status: Published
Schools: Music
Subjects: M Music and Books on Music > ML Literature of music
Additional Information: Online edition
Publisher: Institute of Musical Research
Funders: AHRC, SAS Initiative Grant
Related URLs:
Last Modified: 07 Nov 2022 09:28

Actions (repository staff only)

Edit Item Edit Item