Cardiff University | Prifysgol Caerdydd ORCA
Online Research @ Cardiff 
WelshClear Cookie - decide language by browser settings

Musorgsky and his circle

Walsh, Stephen 2013. Musorgsky and his circle. London: Faber & Faber.

Full text not available from this repository.


Musorgsky and His Circle is an accessible and thought-provoking intellectual biography of the five creators of some of the best-known and most admired Russian music of the nineteenth century. The extraordinary group of Russian composers who came together in St Petersburg in the 1860s - long known as 'The Mighty Handful', but, as the moguchaya kuchka, better translated as 'the great little heap' - gave rise to one of the most intriguing and colourful stories in all musical history. Stephen Walsh, author of a major biography of their direct successor, Stravinsky, has written an absorbing account of Musorgsky and his circle - Borodin, Cui, Balakirev, Rimsky-Korsakov and the art historian Vladimir Stasov. With little or no musical education they created works of lasting significance - Musorgsky's Boris Godunov, Borodin's Prince Igor and Rimsky-Korsakov's Sheherazade. Written with deep understanding and panache, this engaging biography is a significant contribution to cultural history.

Item Type: Book
Book Type: Authored Book
Date Type: Publication
Status: Published
Schools: Music
Subjects: M Music and Books on Music > M Music
Publisher: Faber & Faber
ISBN: 9780571245628
Last Modified: 13 Oct 2021 11:15

Citation Data

Actions (repository staff only)

Edit Item Edit Item